Monday, June 20, 2016

REVIEW: The Long Way Home by Becky Doughty



A Long Way Home
The Fallout Series #3
Becky Doughty





A Long Way Home is the third book in The Fallout Series by Becky Doughty. Like the others in this series, it can be read as a standalone, but characters from the other books play supporting roles in this tale of a girl who fears she's wandered too far from home to ever make it back.

On the run, Savannah Clark lives her life as a modern-day bohemian, hiding her identity behind her beaded scarves and swirling skirts. Marek and the Gypsies, a troupe of dancers and musicians, follow the Renaissance and Medieval Faire circuits, never staying in one place for very long. Her disguise, however, doesn't fool those who know and love her best, nor does it completely hide the evidence of how difficult living in fear can be.

But an unexpected encounter with Jordan Ransome, her first love, tears open old wounds, and tragic news from home brings Savannah face to face with her worst fears. Will she run again, tethered to the lies she's come to believe about herself and those she left behind, or can she trust her heart enough to embrace the girl she once was as the woman she has become?


Trigger Warning: A Long Way Home touches on some heavy subjects, such as sexual domination and manipulation, date rape, and teen pregnancy. 

For fans of Amy Harmon, Kim Holden, and Sarah Dessen (contemporary). 

Themes/Topics
>Runaway Teen
>Unexpected Pregnancy
>Clean romance
>Gypsy romance
>Prodigal Daughter
>Contemporary romance
>Second Chance romance
>New Adult romance
>Young Adult romance
>Coming of age romance
>Romantic suspense
>Bohemian romance
>Renaissance Faire, strong family life, orphan, bohemian lifestyle, sexual abuse, domestic violence, hidden identity, and more.






This author has yet to disappoint me in anything that she has ever written and this story is no different. Ms. Doughty has a way with words that will reel you in and make you a part of the story, plus she has this magic touch of adding life lessons to the stories.

This particular story was simply amazing and one I have yet to ever read before!! It's filled with love, loss, heartache, sexual abuse, date rape, family, and runaways. This book caught a piece of my heart and soul within its pages and helped me to try and let go of my past, due to some issues that I could relate too. This story's lesson was about family and the love and strength of a family no matter the situation and never run away from whatever problems that come up, because family will always be there. This is by far my favorite story of the three so far and I am excited to read more from this author. I highly recommend this story to adults, but fair warning this book is not for the faint of heart.




Crimson Tree Publishing provided me with a digital ARC copy of the book for review purposes only as part of the Clean Teen Publishing Elite Reviewers Team. No remuneration was exchanged.



No comments:

Post a Comment